Rajya Sabha Election Result

Rajya Sabha Election Result: The number of members of the ruling BJP in the Upper House has come down from the current 95 to 92, while the number of Congress members has increased slightly from 29 to 31.

Rajya Sabha Election Result: After the results of the Rajya Sabha elections, the number of members of the ruling BJP in the Upper House of Parliament has come down to 92 from the current 95, while the number of Congress members has slightly increased from 29 to 31.

The biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha on Friday witnessed a close contest in four states – Rajasthan, Haryana, Karnataka and Maharashtra, where the BJP won 22 of the 57 seats, while the Congress went to 9.

Of the 57 retiring members, 25 are from BJP and 7 from Congress. All these members will retire next month and will be replaced by new members. Both the BJP and the Congress reposed faith in new and young faces, some of whom have been nominated by parties for the first time.

ALSO READ THIS :  PM Modi Sets Goal : On the occasion of Independence Day, PM Modi set the goal- "Developed nation in 25 years", know 10 big things

BJP’s numbers include four nominated members

The Congress, which has nominated young faces in the upper house, will now try to surround the government on various issues with more strength in the coming days. The BJP’s numbers include four nominated members who have opted to stay with the ruling party. BJP will get the support of 7 more nominated members. These 7 seats are currently vacant.

The BJP will also have the support of independent Karthikeya Sharma, whom the party backed during the Rajya Sabha elections in Haryana. The BJP had also supported independent Subhash Chandra, who lost from Rajasthan this time. Chandra’s current term ends on August 1.

Among other regional parties, the ruling YSR-Congress strength in Andhra Pradesh has increased from the current 6 to 9 seats, while the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in Delhi and Punjab will have 10 members in the Upper House.

ALSO READ THIS :  Anna Mani Google Doodle: Not only in India but also in the UN, 'India's weather woman' played an important role, know who is Anna Mani..

The strength of many regional parties remains the same

The strength of regional parties like Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Janata Dal-United (JDU), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Shiv Sena remains as before. As many candidates of these parties have won as many have retired. DMK 10, BJD 9, TRS 7, JD(U) 5, NCP 4 and Shiv Sena 3 in Rajya Sabha.

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) and the Communist Party of India Marx have 13 and 5 members respectively. The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) currently has five members in the Rajya Sabha, but will have a further four as the party’s two candidates have won, while three have retired.

SP seats reduced from five to three

The strength of the Samajwadi Party has come down to three in the Rajya Sabha from the current five, as it has given its seats to independent Kapil Sibal and Rashtriya Lok Dal leader Jayant Choudhary. The Rashtriya Janata Dal will now have one more member, which will increase its members from the current five to six.

ALSO READ THIS :  INS Vikrant to join Navy today : Today the world will see the power of Make in India, INS Vikrant will join the Navy in the presence of PM Modi in Kochi

The Bahujan Samaj Party will now have only one member in the upper house. The BSP currently has three members. The number of members of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha will increase to two. The Shiromani Akali Dal, which currently has two members, will no longer have a representative in the Rajya Sabha as all its members are about to retire.

Union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman, Piyush Goyal and two Congress leaders P Chidambaram and Jairam Ramesh return to Rajya Sabha after being elected Kapil Sibal (Independent), Misa Bharti (RJD), Praful Patel (NCP) and Sanjay Raut (Shiv Sena). There are some prominent names.

Apart from this, Congress’s Randeep Surjewala and Imran Pratapgarhi will also be in the Rajya Sabha, while party leaders Mukul Wasnik, Rajiv Shukla, Ranjit Ranjan and Pramod Tiwari have been MPs in the past.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here